Currency Converter Real-Time

Select Language  Calculator  
(Yahoo Finance)  
Argentine peso
The peso (originally established as the peso convertible) is the currency of Argentina, identified by the symbol $ preceding the amount in the same way as many countries using dollar currencies. It is subdivided into 100 centavos. Its ISO 4217 code is ARS. Several earlier currencies of Argentina were also called "peso"; as inflation progressed a new currency with a few zeroes dropped and a different qualifier (peso national currency, peso law 18188, peso argentino...) was introduced. Since 1969 thirteen zeroes have been dropped (a factor of ten trillion).

In recent times the exchange rate hovered around 3 pesos per United States dollar from 2002 to 2008, was around 4 pesos from 2009 to 2011, and has been nearly 5 pesos since the start of 2012. By May 2013, due to the National Government's anticonstitutional policies and the market's lack of trust in the currency, the free exchange rate (the only possible one, as the government has banned the access to US dollars) is about 10 pesos per US dollar.
ISO 4217 codeARS
Central bankCentral Bank of Argentina
Subunit 1/100centavo
Coins5, 10, 25, 50 centavos, 1, 2 pesos
Banknotes2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 pesos

Foreign Exchange Cross Rates
Major Countries   Americas   Asia-Pacific Europe   Middle East and Africa    Currency Charts...more
Currency Information  Show all
 Argentine Peso (ARS) Australian Dollar (AUD) Brazilian Real (BRL) British Pound (GBP)
 Canadian Dollar (CAD) Chilean Peso (CLP) Chinese Yuan (CNY) Colombian Peso (COP)
 Euro (EUR) Hong Kong Dollar (HKD) Indian Rupee (INR) Israeli New Sheqel (ILS)
 Japanese Yen (JPY) Mexican Peso (MXN) Russian Rouble (RUB) Singapore Dollar (SGD)
 South African Rand (ZAR) South Korean Won (KRW) Swiss Franc (CHF) Taiwan Dollar (TWD)
 Turkish Lira (TRY) United States Dollar (USD)
2024, ⓒ fullstacks, soft & apps