Currency Converter Real-Time

Select Language  Calculator  
(Yahoo Finance)  
Egyptian Pound
The Egyptian pound (Arabic: جنيه مصرى‎ Genēh Maṣri) (sign: E£ or ج.م; code: EGP) is the currency of Egypt. It is divided into 100 piastre, or qirsh (قرش [ʔeɾʃ]; plural قروش ; Turkish: Kuruş), or 1,000 milliemes (Arabic: مليم‎ ; French: Millième).

The ISO 4217 code is EGP. Locally, the abbreviation LE or L.E., which stands for livre égyptienne (French for Egyptian pound) is frequently used. E£ and £E are rarely used. The name Gineih (Genēh / Geni) is derived from the Guinea coin, which had almost the same value of 100 piastres at the end of the 19th century.
ISO 4217 codeEGP
Central bankCentral Bank of Egypt
Official user(s)Egypt
Unofficial user(s)Gaza Strip (Palestinian territories), alongside Israeli new sheqel
Subunit 1/100Piastre (قرش, Qirsh)
1/1,000Millième (مليم,‎ Mallīm)
SymbolEGP, LE, E£ or ج.م
Piastre (قرش, Qirsh) pt.
Coins25pt, 50pt, £1
Banknotes£5, £10, £20, £50, £100, £200
Foreign Exchange Cross Rates
Major Countries   Americas   Asia-Pacific Europe   Middle East and Africa    Currency Charts...more
Currency Information  Show all
 Argentine Peso (ARS) Australian Dollar (AUD) Brazilian Real (BRL) British Pound (GBP)
 Canadian Dollar (CAD) Chilean Peso (CLP) Chinese Yuan (CNY) Colombian Peso (COP)
 Euro (EUR) Hong Kong Dollar (HKD) Indian Rupee (INR) Israeli New Sheqel (ILS)
 Japanese Yen (JPY) Mexican Peso (MXN) Russian Rouble (RUB) Singapore Dollar (SGD)
 South African Rand (ZAR) South Korean Won (KRW) Swiss Franc (CHF) Taiwan Dollar (TWD)
 Turkish Lira (TRY) United States Dollar (USD)
2024, ⓒ fullstacks, soft & apps