Currency Converter Real-Time

Select Language  Calculator  
(Yahoo Finance)  
Mauritanian ouguiya
The ouguiya (sign: UM; Arabic: أوقية‎; currency code: MRO), also spelt "ougiya", is the currency of Mauritania. It is the only circulating currency other than the Malagasy ariary whose division units are not based on a power of ten, each ouguiya comprising five khoums (singular and plural in English, Arabic: خمس‎, meaning "one fifth").

The ouguiya was introduced in 1973, replacing the CFA franc at a rate of 1 ouguiya = 5 francs.
ISO 4217 codeMRO
Central bankBanque Centrale de Mauritanie
User(s)Mauritania, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
Subunit ⅕khoums
Coins Freq. used5, 10, 20, 50 ouguiya
Rarely used1 khoums (⅕ Ouguiya), 1 ouguiya
Banknotes100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, 5000 ouguiya
PrinterGiesecke & Devrient
Foreign Exchange Cross Rates
Major Countries   Americas   Asia-Pacific Europe   Middle East and Africa    Currency Charts...more
Currency Information  Show all
 Argentine Peso (ARS) Australian Dollar (AUD) Brazilian Real (BRL) British Pound (GBP)
 Canadian Dollar (CAD) Chilean Peso (CLP) Chinese Yuan (CNY) Colombian Peso (COP)
 Euro (EUR) Hong Kong Dollar (HKD) Indian Rupee (INR) Israeli New Sheqel (ILS)
 Japanese Yen (JPY) Mexican Peso (MXN) Russian Rouble (RUB) Singapore Dollar (SGD)
 South African Rand (ZAR) South Korean Won (KRW) Swiss Franc (CHF) Taiwan Dollar (TWD)
 Turkish Lira (TRY) United States Dollar (USD)
2024, ⓒ fullstacks, soft & apps